Currently in used

5, 10, 20 and 50 fenning (equivalent to American cents)
1 and 2 in coins
1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 in paper notes

1 EU ~ 2KM
1.5 dollars ~ 2KM

Tied to the German mark, therefore the name Konvertible Mark or KM.

They say that you get better rate at the post office. However I was not able to change my money there, probably because they did not understand what I wanted. If you change in the banks on Saturday, make sure you get there before 2 p.m. Banks and exchange offices do not work on Sunday.

Exchange rate table
http://www.corporateinformation.com/currencyrate.asp?ctry_cod=070

Which currency should I bring?

I think that many big shops accept euros although I never tried. I am used to paying with the KM.  I even saw a small fast food stand accepted 2 euros in coins from a group of Slovakian kids. I guess the kids just got lucky with an easy-going vendor. You might not.

