When you hear of WWI, you will hear about the major players such as Germany, Austria, Russia, France, England, etc. But it was an incident in Sarajevo in which a nationalist Serb assassinated the heir to the Habsburg throne, Archduke Francis Ferdinand on June 28, 1914 that led to a chain of human nonsense called World War I.

I think Sarajevo was mentioned somewhere in my history text book when I learned about WWI in high school, but soon forgot . Well, who can remember historical facts. A local Bosnian, my colleague, reminded me of this fact my first day in Sarajevo when we walked along the Latin bridge near Bistrik Medresa, across from the assassination place.. It was named Princip after the assassin and changed to Latin after the Yugoslavian war. Well, this makes every single sense. In a city with a majority Bosniaks, why should a name of a nationalist Serb exist?

